Show All Answers
The U.S. commercial aviation system, regional airlines included, is the safest mode of transportation in the world. Moreover, the safety record of regional airlines equals that of major airlines - including pilot training and the rest requirements, safety equipment and dispatching procedures.
Code Enforcement DivisionPh: (308) 233-3235
Kearney Police Department, Non-EmergencyPh: (308) 237-2104
Please create an account at https://www2.citizenserve.com/kearneyne
Through this portal, you have access to all of our online services for permitting. If you have any questions or need assistance, please call Lisa at 308-233-3234 or Jamie at 308-233-3235.
City Code requires all residential, commercial, and industrial zoned property have a permit before erecting or replacing a fence of any type.
• Rockets that are mounted on a stick or wire and project in the air when ignited, with or without report.• All wire sparklers are illegal.• Nighttime parachutes.• Fireworks that are shot into the air and after coming to the ground cause automatic ignition due to sufficient temperature.• Firecrackers that contain more that fifty milligrams of explosive composition.• Fireworks that have been tested by the State Fire Marshal as a response to complaints and have been deemed to be unsafe.
For more information on consumer fireworks, please visit the Nebraska State Fire Marshal website. website
City of Kearney Code, Chapter 4 Article 6 and the Nebraska State Fire Marshal website at www.sfm.state.ne.
There is no cost to apply for a library card. Bring a valid form of photo identification (i.e. driver’s license or passport), as well as proof of current address (i.e. bank statement, lease, checkbook, etc.) to the main desk of the library. Youth age 17 & younger need a parent or guardian to sign them up for a card. There are no residential requirements to get a library card. Your library card allows you to check out materials, use the computers, access the internet, access our online resources, reserve a study room, reserve a meeting room, request & reserve library materials, use the bookmobile, and use our interlibrary loan service!
You may have up to 99 items checked out at one time.
Most of our materials check out for a 28-day period. Magazines, Golden Sower nominees, and new books check out for 14 days. DVDs check out for 7 days. Downloadable books give you the option of a 7-, 14-, or 21-day checkout period.
You may renew any item twice, as long as another patron hasn’t requested the item. Items renew for the same loan period length. Items also renew from the date the renewal is requested, not from the original due date.
Items may be renewed by:
The library does not charge late fines. Patrons who have overdue items may not check out until the overdue items are renewed or returned. Items may be renewed twice unless they are requested by another patron.
You will be given a receipt with a list of due dates when you check out. We offer pre-overdue notices via text message or e-mail, and overdue notices via text message, e-mail, or standard mail. These are courtesy notices and you are responsible for knowing when your materials are due. You can check the status of your account anytime by logging into the catalog with your library card number. Items returned on their due date after the library closes are considered returned on time.
If the charges on your library account are $25 or more, and there is no response to our overdue notices, your account may be sent to a collection service. A $10 fee will be assessed to your account if it is turned over to the collection service.
We will ask for replacement costs for any items that are lost or damaged while checked out. If you pay for a lost item, find it, and return it in good condition within six months, we will refund your payment. We do not accept replacement items.
We accept payment in the forms of cash, check, credit, or debit card. You may pay over the phone by calling the main desk at 308-233-3282 during library hours or you can pay online by signing into your account.
About Text Notifications
We do ask that if you lose a book or if a book is damaged beyond usual wear and tear, that you pay the replacement cost for the item. If you pay for a lost book and it's found in good condition within six months, the library will refund the price of the book to you. The library doesn't accept replacement materials. We accept cash, checks, credit, and debit cards for payment in the library or you can choose to pay online by signing into your account.
Yes. The library has many computers available to you with internet access. We also have Wi-Fi if you prefer to bring your laptop or device. You'll need your library card barcode number to access the internet from a library computer. Guest passes for the computers may be obtained in the library if you don't have a library card.
As a borrower, you are responsible for all materials checked out on your card. This includes payment of any charges on your account. Parents or guardians are responsible for materials checked on their child’s library card. If you are 16 and older you must present your library card or a photo ID in order to check out materials and in order to access our computers. You are also responsible for keeping your contact information with the library current. If you happen to lose or misplace your library card, please let us know as soon as possible. You also need to respect the rights of other people to use and enjoy the library.
You can easily update your account information by calling the library at 308-233-3282 or filling out this online form.
Several restrictions have been put in place to help ensure the safety of patrons and staff and to comply with the Directed Health Measures issued by the Governor and the Two Rivers Health Department.
Not everyone is required to wear a face covering. Some people with disabilities, physical or mental health conditions, and very young people (under 5) are not required to wear face coverings because doing so may cause harm to that person. Although the DHM requiring face masks has a broad exemption for people with disabilities, the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) allows for businesses to provide reasonable accommodations in the form of alternate services (e.g., curbside pickup or delivery instead of in person shopping) for a person who cannot wear a face covering because of a disability.
Masks are also not required for those:
Face coverings help prevent the spread of the virus.
Wash your cloth face covering frequently, ideally after each use, or at least daily. Keep cloth face coverings in a separate paper bag or bin until they can be laundered with detergent and hot water and dried on a hot cycle. If you must re-wear your cloth face covering before washing, wash your hands immediately after putting it back on and avoid touching your face.
If you use a paper face covering that is not for health care workers, it is recommended that you use a new one every day. Used paper face coverings should be thrown out at the end of the day.
If the staff of the business and the customer can maintain 6 feet of distancing at all times, they would not need face coverings.
Yes, when you are going into and out of the gym. However, you may remove your face covering when you are engaged in exercise.
Nothing. Some people have conditions or circumstances that would make wearing a cloth face covering difficult or dangerous. Just wear your face covering and stay six feet away.
Any individual or person who is found to have violated any of the provisions of the ordinance shall be guilty of an infraction as defined in section 1-112 of City code for each offense and shall be subjected to a fine of $25 for the initial offense. Each instance of violation may be considered to be a separate offense.
Yes. Nothing in the Nebraska Concealed Handgun Permit Act, Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 69-2427 – 69-2449, prohibits the permit holder from wearing a face mask or face covering as described in the City of Kearney Temporary Mask ordinance. Permit holders may be asked to briefly remove the mask for proper identification by Law Enforcement. Permit holders shall comply with duties; contact with a peace officer, as described in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 69-2440.
Kearney has over 27 miles of trails. A Kearney Trails Map is available free at the Park & Recreation Office, or can be viewed on this website.
KPR employs approximately 250 seasonals annually. Some of the positions include: youth sport coaches/officials, day camp instructors, adult sport officials, lifeguards, pool cashiers, park ambassadors, marina staff, nature barn attendants, concession attendants, park maintenance, golf course maintenance, and golf services. Applications for these positions can be submitted at various times throughout the year. Age requirements for each position vary. Please call the KPR Office at (308) 237-4644 for more information.
There are multiple ways to register for our recreation programs.. We accept registration online at kprreg.org, in person at our office at 1930 University Drive, Monday - Thursday 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and Friday 7:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m., or over the phone with a Visa/MasterCard by calling 237-4644,
If you are interested in information regarding how to reserve a facility in one of the parks or checking a date for one of the facilities please call our main office at (308) 237-4644. Reservations are not accepted over the phone. If you want to reserve a facility our office is located at 2005 1st Avenue or you can email or fax a form to us with a credit card in order to be placed on the calendar.
No, the splash pads are free to the public.
The splash pads generally open for the season on the Friday before Memorial Weekend and close on the second Sunday in September.
Yes, people can bring in a Jump-a-Roo for a private party or public event. A Rental Application needs to be submitted and approved so that park staff is aware that it will be in the park. If the jump-a-roo is being placed in a public park without renting a facility, there is a $25 fee. If the event is open to the public, the group making the request is required to have a $1,000,000 liability policy and, if possible, name the City as an additional insured on that policy. All groups are required to meet with staff to review where you can put the Jump-a-Roo without damaging underground irrigation.
No, park restrooms close October 31, with the exception of the Cottonmill Lodge and E.R.C. building at Yanney Park restrooms which will remain open throughout the winter months. Restrooms reopen in the spring based on the weather.
You may receive your Nebraska Criminal History background information by contacting the Nebraska State Patrol Criminal History Repository at 402-479-4971 and they will explain the procedure for obtaining the information you need.
Accident reports can be accessed online by clicking on the link "Accident Reports" below. Reports are also available at the Law Enforcement Center, Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
If an accident report is accessed online, there is no fee. Please note the Law Enforcement Center does accept debit or credit cards, excluding American Express.
Parking citations can be paid at the Kearney Law Enforcement Center. The office hours of the Records Office are 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday-Friday. There is also a drop box located in the lobby if you are unable to come in during those hours. Please note the Law Enforcement Center does accept debit or credit cards.
You must purchase a handgun permit from the county in which you reside. A form can be obtained from the Kearney Law Enforcement Center Records Office, Monday-Friday from 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. There is a fee of $5.00 due at the time of application and one form of identification, with address and date of birth, must also be presented at the time of application. The process does take three full working days and it is required that you return to the Law Enforcement Center to sign the permit once it has been approved. Please note the Law Enforcement Center does accept debit or credit cards.
An application can be picked up at the Kearney Law Enforcement Center, Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. or the application can also be downloaded from the City of Kearney website. In order to receive a permit a person must have an Identification Card/Driver’s License, Federal ID number, State Sales Tax Permit (depending on product) and a State Food Permit (if food is the product). The fee for the permit is $25/day or $250/annual. The annual permit will always run from January 1-December 31. The application process can take up to three working days. Please note the Law Enforcement Center does accept debit or credit cards.
Questions regarding the release of property held as evidence should be addressed through the County Attorney's Office. The phone number is (308) 236-1222 and they are located at the Buffalo County Courthouse, 1512 Central Ave., Kearney, Nebraska.
Registration can be completed on our website at kprreg.org, over the phone by calling us at 237-4644 with a Visa/Mastercard or by mailing in the registration form.
KPR does offer the following organized youth sports: Ponytail Softball, Kearney Team Tennis, Tiny Kickers’ Soccer, and in cooperation with the Kearney Soccer League offer the U11-14 Boys & Girls Recreational Soccer League. All other organized youth sports can be located by going to the following web sites: Little League baseball - www.kearneylittleleague.com Legion baseball - www.baseballkearney.com Girls’ competitive softball - www.kearneycompetitivesoftball.com Girls’ recreation softball - email: firstname.lastname@example.org - Soccer - www.kearneysoccer.org
The Play Kearney Play Book is printed two times a year, April-September and October-March. Play Kearney is distributed in the Kearney Hub newspaper, available at the KPR Office, City Hall, Kearney Public Library, and online at www.kprreg.org or www.cityofkearney.org.
Mandated by Congress under the Clean Water Act, the NPDES stormwater Program is a comprehensive two-phased national program for addressing the non-agricultural sources of stormwater discharges which adversely affect the quality of our nation's waters. The program uses the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permitting mechanism to require the implementation of controls designed to prevent harmful pollutants from being washed by stormwater runoff into local water bodies.
Stormwater is collected from our streets and then flows into a separated system. This system goes untreated and flows into local waterways, carrying all collected pollution with it.
It’s a monthly fee that is charged to persons connected to either municipal water or sanitary systems or both. The owner, occupant, or person who is responsible for the payment of water and/or sewer service shall be jointly and severally responsible for the payment of this surcharge fee. It pays for the City’s current stormwater system and annual maintenance costs. This helps to prevent and correct runoff problems in Kearney. The fee is $2.00 per month for residential properties and $6.00 per month for non-residential properties.
City ordinance No. 8127 has a lot of good information about the stormwater surcharge. You can find the Municipal Code at www.cityofkearney.org.
The City of Kearney has more information in the Stormwater Management section of the Public Works Department located at www.cityofkearney.org. Stormwater Management
The hardness of the municipal water supply requires that most softeners be set at 19 grains per gallon.
The City of Kearney does offer drop-off sites for residential recyclables including rechargeable batteries and cell phones at the Public Works Building drop-off site at 1919 15th Avenue or at the Recycling Center at 3007 East 39th Street. If residents want to recycle their used electronic devices they should ask the retailer selling the new product. Some retailers offer recycling of electronics for a fee.
No, there are brown containers for yard waste. Yard waste containers are emptied once a week, April through the third week of November, for a fee of $14.07 per month per container.
Section 5-211 of the Kearney City Code Collection Regulations: Use of Assigned Property. “It shall be unlawful for any person to place, or permit another to place, any garbage or trash in any receptacle, at any refuse collection point or in any garbage container used in the city container collection service, unless the garbage, trash, or refuse is from the premises served by the container or from the premises at which the container or collection point is located.”
Extra trash should be carefully transported to the Landfill and disposed of there for the appropriate fee.
Residents who observe unlawful use of the refuse collection containers should call the Police Department at 233-5250 with the description of the person using the refuse container unlawfully and that person’s vehicle description.
New Year’s DayMartin Luther King DayPresidents’ DayMemorial DayIndependence DayLabor DayVeterans’ DayThanksgiving, both Thursday and FridayChristmas Eve and Christmas Day
Please notice that the City does not take off for Columbus Day OR Arbor Day and the Sanitation/Refuse collection schedule is not changed for these holidays.
Weather permitting means that if it is unusually cold or if the City receives a late snow in March or April, yard waste collection may begin later than the first week of April. OR if the City receives an early snow in October or early November yard waste collection may end sooner than the week before Thanksgiving. WATCH FOR NEWS RELEASES announcing the beginning and end dates for yard waste collection.
Container storage: Residents are encouraged to store their yard waste container over the winter months in order to save the Sanitation Division the time consuming task of hauling the containers in to the storage yard.
Yard waste billing: The City does not charge the monthly bill for yard waste collection over the winter months of November, December, January, February or March.